Skip to content

European Parliament calls for coordinated withdrawal of the EU from the ECT

Photo by Guillaume Périgois / Unsplash

On 21 November 2022, the European Commission was forced to concede a lack of consensus among the EU’s 27 Member States regarding the agreement in principle on the modernisation of the Energy Charter Treaty (ECT). This followed a meeting of the Council of the European Union on 18 November 2022 in which Germany, France, Spain and the Netherlands scuppered the consensus seeking process by abstaining from the vote.

This post is for subscribers only


Already have an account? Log in